

THE CENTENNIAL AMERICAN INN OF COURT

Jerome F. O'Rourke Advocacy Award

Protocol

The Jerome F. O'Rourke Advocacy Award will be considered annually for recognition of a member of the Genesee County Bar Association who demonstrates the highest level of professional excellence in advocacy, and who exemplifies the other principles of the American Inns of Court: Professionalism, Ethics and Civility. Previous recipients include: Max Dean, Robert L. Segar, Gregory T. Gibbs, H. William Reising, David S. Grant, Jr, Terrance P. Sheehan, Dennis R. Lazar, Kendall B. Williams, Philip H. Beauvais, Glenn M. Simmington, John A. Zintsmaster, Jessica Mainprize-Hajek, and Carl L. Bekofske. The Executive Committee of the Centennial American Inn of Court will select a recipient using the following protocol.

Nomination

The Executive Committee will solicit nominations from the membership of the Genesee County Bar Association at GCBA membership meetings and through the monthly GCBA newsletter.

Selection

The Executive Committee will consider nominations every year, but the Committee might not select an award recipient every year. The factors considered by the Committee will include:

The use of novel and effective legal arguments or techniques;

The willingness to represent unpopular clients or causes;

The willingness to recognize and promote the interests of the client, including the promotion of settlement or alternative dispute resolution where appropriate;

The promotion of respect for the legal profession and the judicial system by cooperation with all participants in the legal system, including court personnel, opposing counsel, opposing clients, witnesses, and the public; and

Recognition of his/her stewardship in the judicial system by avoidance of conduct that disparages the Courts and its officials and other counsel.

Award

A recipient of the award will be recognized by the President of the Inn at the joint GCBA annual meeting. The Inn will provide a suitable plaque at its expense.

Jerome F. O'Rourke Advocacy Award

2019 Nominating Form

Standard

The nominee is a member of the Genesee County Bar Association who demonstrates the highest level of professional excellence in advocacy and who exemplifies the other principles of the American Inns of Court: Professionalism, Ethics and Civility.

The Centennial Chapter of the American Inns of Court established this award in honor of its first President, Jerome F. O'Rourke. The award protocol is described on the opposite page. The Executive Committee of the Centennial Chapter requests that Genesee County Bar Association members consider nominations for lawyers in any area of practice, including criminal law, family law, and general civil litigation.

Name of Nominee:

Please explain why this nominee should be awarded the 2019 Jerome F. O'Rourke Advocacy Award:

Nominates by:

Telephone number:

Date:

The Executive Committee of the Centennial Chapter will consider all nominees. The award recipient will be recognized at the joint Genesee County Bar Association Annual Meeting on May 21, 2019.