Contact Us  |  Member Log In  |  Search for a GCBA Member:  
Annual Awards Board of Directors Bylaws History Job Posting Law Day Awards Strategic Planning Report and Recommendation Mission Statement Past Presidents
Admission Ceremony Affiliate Membership Application Member Benefits Membership Application Membership Renewal Membership Types & Rates
Address and Contact Information Change Form ADR (Alternative Dispute Resolution) Bar Beat Barristers' Ball Committees Courthouse Composite COVID-19 NEWS Events Calendar General Membership Member Benefits Membership Renewal Nomination forms Notes N' News Standards for Professional Conduct Speakers Bureau Registration Specialty Courts Video Seminars Videos
Admission Ceremony Ask the Lawyer Video Series Corporate Sponsorship Opportunities Job Posting Law Day Lawyer Referral Service Speakers Bureau
Important Links
Centennial American Inns of the Court Flint Trial Lawyers Genesee County Bar Foundation Mallory VanDyne & Scott
Contact & Location Staff Email Us
Event Registration Membership Renewal Products Seminar Videos Video Log In

 ADR (Alternative Dispute Resolution)
Home   ADR (Alternative Dispute Resolution)

ADR

 

Your Genesee County Bar Association Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Committee wishes to remind you that there are many methods that can be used to assist you in trying to bring a resolution to your disputes that will allow you to avoid the often costly and time consuming process of seeking the assistance of a Judge or Jury.  Alternative Dispute Resolution offers numerous methods to assist you in having your matters addressed.  Some of these include:

 

Pre Suit Mediation – Some matters just don’t need the cost, expense and delays associated with litigation.  In these cases a trained mediator can be of great assistance in helping the potential litigants a way of resolving their disputes before having to dive into a lengthy and costly litigation.

 

Discovery Mediation – Disputes over discovery often become a larger battle than the litigation they arise within.  A judge, even when available, with a busy docket and more pressing matters, may often not provide a satisfying ruling.  Mediating these disputes can likely lead to a quicker, fairer and more focused result for your clients.

 

Pending Case Mediation – Study after study has continued to show that mediation is one of the most effective tools for resolving a case.  With uncertain court time frames and clients in need of resolving their disputes it is clearly worth an attempt.

 

Selection of ADR Specialists – Arbitration  – Some cases are just not going to settle. Arbitration can provide some finality to a matter and at times can greatly streamline the fact presentation to cut out unnecessary delays and costs.   Parties can choose a one person arbitrator; a panel of three or any other method they believe works in their specific case.

 

Case Evaluation – This procedure is used in most circuit court cases and some district court cases. A panel of three randomly selected, unbiased, long-time litigators reviews the parties’ summaries, meets with counsel and makes an award that the parties can accept as a settlement of the matter or can reject and go to trial. Any rejecting party failing to improve their position by the required amount may bear the burden of paying the opposing party’s attorney fees and costs.

 

Fortunately the Genesee County Bar Association has many members who are greatly qualified to provide these services in all areas of law.  Depending on your circumstances, arrangements can be made to conduct these proceedings in person, virtually or in another manner that is consistent with your needs.  A list of the members of our committee who would be more than happy to assist you in exploring your ADR needs and working with you to perform them in a safe manner are located in the blue box to the right.  You are welcome to contact any of the ADR Committee members listed below to assist you in deciding on your ADR method or to help pick the Mediator/Arbitrator who best fits your needs.

 

In addition the Community Resolution Center also offers low cost mediation services and in some cases free services to those who qualify looking to mediate their disputes.

 

ADR Committee Members:

Linda Berker <lsberker@aol.com>

Jose' Brown <jbrown@ccglawyers.com>

George Brueck <gfbrueck@yahoo.com>

Kathleen Buckley <kathleen.buckley1@gmail.com>

Robert Chimovitz <bchimovitz@aol.com>

Barbara Dawes <bdawes@hfdlawfirm.com>

Peter Doerr <peter@doerrpc.com>

Charles Filipiak <cffilipiak@owdpc.com>

Michael Gildner <mgildner@sfplaw.com>

Walter Griffin <wgriffin@ccglawyers.com>

Dayna Harper <dlh.mediation@yahoo.com>

Alan Himelhoch <afh@winegarden-law.com>

Jeffrey Himelhoch <jjhimelhoch@gmail.com>

Geoffrey Neithercut <gneithercut4855@gmail.com>

Robert Ransom <ransom05@comcast.net>

Daniel Rittman <djrittman@comcast.net>

J. Dallas Winegarden, Jr. <professorwinegarden@gmail.com>

Timothy Winship <TWinship@thewilliamsfirm.com>

Pamela Wistrand <wistrandp@aol.com>

Dean Yeotis <deanyeotis@yahoo.com>

Bill Brickley wjbrickley@gmail.com

Jake Danieleski jdanieleski@owdpc.com